TPACK Cooking

In the video below I selected a task by chance and a plate, a bowl and a utensil were selected for me by chance.  The task that I selected by drawing a slip of paper from a hat was, make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  The plate that was selected for me was a larger dinner plate.  The bowl that was selected for me was a large salad bowl, and the utensil that was selected for me was a serving spoon.  In the video I have to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with the tools that were selected for me.  I talk about how well suited the tool (serving spoon) is to the task that I have to complete.  I also mention the tool that I rather have and whether or not the bowl and plate that were selected for me were adequate to complete the task of making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I was able to complete the task at hand with no problems or complications.  I would have preferred to have a knife to complete the task because that is what I am used to using when making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  This specific activity relates to the TPACK framework and the idea of repurposing because I had to make due with what I had to complete the task. TPACK is a specific framework that shows what teachers need to teach effectively with technology.  Every classroom is different and has access to different technology.  No teacher is going to have a classroom made up of students with the same knowledge, same content that needs to be taught and access to the same technology.  Therefore, just like this project I had to make due with what I had to complete the task and teachers need to make due with what they have to teach effectively with technology.

 

Leave a Reply

